Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 5/5 May 15, 2019
    * This cereal is my husband's breakfast every morning. He enjoys it with sugar free almond milk and it has proven very beneficial in keeping his mid morning glucose numbers down. He has never been a cereal eater but enjoys this one. I was fixing him oatmeal for breakfast until I discovered StaySteady Cereal. I have recommended this cereal to co-workers with diabetes and I don't promote a product unless I believe in it.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 12, 2019
    * I love this cereal wet or dry, changing the name hasnít changed the taste or quantity. Still the same great cereal! I just wish eating healthy wasnít always expensive!
    Nutritious Living StaySteady Cereal
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 April 29, 2019
    * This is a poor substitute for the Hi LO cereal that it replaced. It is pretty close to tasteless and has more salt. Wish they would go back to the old product. There aren't many low carb cereal products on the market and HI LO was the best.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 27, 2019
    * I've stayed away from cereals for some time now as the questionable nutrition and outrageous amounts of sugar in them simply wasn't worth the convenience of cereals "eat and run" ability. No longer! StaySteady allows me to have a much healthier breakfast and a load of protein in a low sugar meal. Bravo StaySteady and Netrition.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 22, 2019
    * This is by far the best low carb cereal I have had to date. The flavor is great and the flakes don't get mushy like most cereals.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 09, 2019
    * The flavor is definitely a step down from Hi-Lo. If you're the kind of person who can't stand bland cereal you will no doubt be frustrated by the change, but I can live with it. It's still got a satisfying crunch to it, and as is the case with most bland, high-fiber cereals, the best way to enjoy it is as a platform for other flavors.

    My personal preferred way to eat it is with cold milk or cream, some dried blueberries or freeze dried strawberries, and a spoonful of Stevia (the crystal "table sugar" variety). Adding the fruit and and stevia makes for a very refreshing breakfast with a bit of flavor and texture variety. I always buy the plain version because I like mixing things up with different fruits.

    Since Stay Steady is lower in net carbs than Hi-lo, I can at least enjoy the opportunity to add berries for extra flavor without compromising my net carb goals, which is why I give it 4 stars instead of 3. If you just want to eat it plain you will probably be disappointed, but when prepared as I suggested it can be a very satisfying low-carb breakfast option.

    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 March 28, 2019
    * I enjoyed the HiLo cereal much better than this replacement- the reason I rated a 4- the Stevia in the cereal is noticeable- (I do not like Stevia). Other than this- Stay Steady has good crunch and flavor- and stays crunching in milk. I will buy again
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 March 25, 2019
    * Do NOT like the new version of the former Hi Lo cereal. It has practically no flavor and the texture is too hard and dense. We loved the vanilla almond Hi Lo but this is like eating wood chips.

    Please do us a favor and bring back the original version!!!

    Nutritious Living StaySteady Cereal
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 February 16, 2019
    * It's to bad Nutritious Living re-formulated their cereal. Nutrition wise it's a little better for you, but taste wise it lost a step or two. I still buy it and eat it (the Vanilla Almond) but it's not as good as it was. I've also tried the Maple Walnut, not a fan of that at all, but if you really like Maple flavor, maybe it would work for you.
    Nutritious Living StaySteady Cereal
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 29, 2019
    * tasted like cardboard. fed it to the chickens.
    Nutritious Living StaySteady Cereal
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 January 26, 2019
    * The maple/pecan is quite tasty, but vanilla/almond, not so much. I will older the maple one again. The other needs more vanilla flavor. Not sure if I can improve the flave enough to order that one again.
    Nutritious Living StaySteady Cereal
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 25, 2019
    * This is my favorite cereal. Also, it's great for snacks because you can bag it and take it with you.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 25, 2019
    * Surprisingly tasty & very filling.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 23, 2019
    * Bring back the original HI-LO! This is NOT the same. I like plain cereal (not almond, not vanilla, etc). and my favorite go-to breakfast was Hi-Lo Original. I usually order 6 boxes at a time, and almost every 6 weeks I'm ordering again. But this time, it said "new", so I only ordered 2 boxes of this new stuff. Boy am I glad I didn't go for my usual 6!

    I ate it, but I didn't like it (have never returned anything to Netrition and didn't know the process, so didn't bother). Anyway, at first I thought it might be OK, but as the days went by and I looked forward to it less and less, then began eating anything else for breakfast, I decided they REALLY DID RUIN MY FAVORITE BREAKFAST!

    Why did you mess with success, people???

    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 January 15, 2019
    * I agree with others, this is offered as the same product as the previous Hi Lo cereal by the same company and it definitely is not the same. Some new ingredients are added and other ingredients in Hi Lo were taken out. It is not sweet by any stretch of my imagination and it has virtually no taste. The pecan PIECES were minimal at best in the boxes I purchased. I have ordered Hi Lo for many years from Netrition and I am sorry to see them tout this product as the SAME as Hi Lo. I won't be buying Stay Steady again, the numbers are great but I want taste in any product I buy and eat and this has none.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 15, 2019
    * I want to give this a NEGATIVE 5. This is NOTHING like the HiLo cereal that we loved.

    The new formula is The WORST. I switched to Kays and am loving it.

    I returned all six boxes of this. They have ruined this.

    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 28, 2018
    * This cereal tastes pretty good and keeps me satisfied for several hours, due to the high protein, low carbohydrate content.
    Nutritious Living StaySteady Cereal
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 December 19, 2018
    * Not nearly as good as Hi-Lo. Both the Vanilla and Maple Pecan taste like cardboard. Bring back Hi-Lo.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 15, 2018
    * A great cereal! Lower in carbs and much higher in protein than normal store products.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 14, 2018
    * Wanted Hi=lo cereal which I love but it seems to be no longer available. This seems like a similar replacement and I will be delighted if it is the same when I finally try it. I am finishing my last box of Hi-lo right now.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 December 12, 2018
    * If I could give this product 0 stars, I would.

    We have been buying about 50 boxes per year for years of the previous version - both Maple Pecan and Vanilla Almond HiLo cereals. Tt's been breakfast almost every day at our house. We bought one box of each flavor (including Original unflavored) of the new Stay Steady version just to try them, but will not be buying more. Luckily there are many other low carb cereals out there to try.

    Both the maple pecan and vanilla flavors are a perfect example of why people say healthy food tastes like twigs - though in this case it tastes like cardboard and with a little bitter aftertaste.

    I have to wonder how much consumer testing was done. It's hard to see how anyone could prefer the Stay Steady versions.

    NOTE: the Stay Steady box shows a 1 cup serving size, while the old HiLo serving was 1/2 cup. Take this into account when comparing carb count and other nutritional values.

    The net carb count of Stay Steady is a little lower, which is good. But there is less fiber, not good. There's more soy in the Stay Steady version, which does nothing to improve the flavor. And there is now 2 grams of added sugars in the form of maple syrup.

    The only plus is that it's now sweetened with stevia (though not enough) instead of Splenda.

    We would not recommend this brand, sorry to say.

    Nutritious Living StaySteady Cereal
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 09, 2018
    * The maple pecan flavor is great and it keeps you full for a very long time. I cant comment on the other flavors as I have not tried them.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 08, 2018
    * I rarely eat cereal, but it's my husband's usual breakfast. I bought this cereal on clearance. It arrived still fresh (inside expiry) and my husband liked it. I will be buying it again to let him try the other flavors.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 03, 2018
    * Like several others, I found the new StaySteady cereal not as tasty as the original Hi-Lo version. Not bad, just not as good. The bits of pecan were tasty but overall it just wasn't what I remembered the Hi-Lo as tasting. Would buy again very occasionally, as something different, but not as a regular item. As far as recommending to others, I would go with trying a box first to see if you or anyone in your family likes it.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 30, 2018
    * Great taste, satisfying. I enjoy it so much.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 28, 2018
    * Not as good as old version.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 November 09, 2018
    * This cereal used to be Hi-Lo and delicious. NOW, under this new brand, it is absolutely DREADFUL. I am returning mine.
    Nutritious Living StaySteady Cereal
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 01, 2018
    * Cereal! It's been ages. So great to find a lowish - carb cereal we can enjoy once in a while. The carb count with whole milk will be over 20g, however that IS for an entire cup of the cereal. This is for the maple pecan flavor - delicious maple flavor with pecan slices in it. The cereal shape is like small flakes, similar to Special K.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 November 01, 2018
    * At first I was upset that Nutritious Living did away with their Hi Lo cereal. I am a carb counting diabetic and that cereal was good for my style of eating. When they came out with the StaySteady cereal I was distressed to read that it had double the carbs but I decided to try it.

    What I found on closer examination was that the reason the carb count had doubled was because they had also doubled the serving size. The 60 grams of cereal recommended on the panel is totally ridiculous.

    If you are trying this cereal stick with the recommended 30 grams from the old Hi Lo panel and you'll be fine with your blood sugar. The texture and taste are similar enough to the old product.

    Nutritious Living StaySteady Cereal
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 October 25, 2018
    * This cereal is very disappointing ,nothing like Nutritious Living Hi Lo products. I tried this after the manufacturer stopped making Hi Lo and it is just awful. Gets soggy very quickly and there's an odd after taste too, not to mention the pecans were quite scarce.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 October 21, 2018
    * The new version of the Hi-Lo cereal basically is the same except they took out the sweetener. I miss the Splenda in it! However the macros are great so Iíll still eat it and add my own Splenda
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 30, 2018
    * Love the maple pecan. I haven't tried the other flavors though.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.