Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 2/5 January 17, 2019
    * These banana nut muffins were not very good. The consistency wasn't bad actually, for a lo carb muffin but there was only a very faint taste of banana and they were not really sweet at all, in fact they were quite salty...which I found to be odd. I actually like salty things in general, but not in my muffins. I really wanted to like these, so I was really disappointed.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 September 10, 2018
    * Not a big fan of the corn muffins. They don't taste anything like cornbread. I was very disappointed. I will not be buying that flavor again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Corn
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 August 16, 2018
    * I absolutely love the Chocolate chocolate chip muffins! My husband, the cynical diabetic even loves the CCC muffins. HOWEVER, I just made the Lemon Cream (and I usually love anything with Lemon), followed the recipe exactly, and I was incredibly surprised at the vast difference between the two!! The Lemon Cream looked and smelled perfect. But when you bite into it, there is the strongest, strangest metallic and ash taste that I couldn't even keep it in my mouth. My husband had a worse experience. I tried it again and almost threw up it was so bad, but chewed and eventually got a bit down just so I could make sure I was getting the whole experience. YIKES!!! Absolutely horrid and a complete waste of money (they are pretty pricey to begin with). The horrid nasty metallic taste lasted for quite a while and I had a hard time getting it out of my mouth. I ordered several kinds so we'll see how the others go. Save your money...do NOT order the Lemon Cream. I would have given it a zero, but since I loved the Chocolate I wanted to be fair.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Lemon Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 September 23, 2015
    * This is for the Blueberry Cream flavor - It was not very sweet (which I find a downside, but I know others would find it an upside). The texture was great and very satisfying. But I was not a fan of the flavor, after swallowing. It was great when you first take a bite, but the bad aftertaste just grows and grows and grows. I hoped at first that it would go away after the muffins sat overnight, but it sadly did not.

    I'm going to give the Chocolate chocolate chip a try (I bought them at the same time) since I enjoyed the texture of the muffins so much. Hopefully not all flavors have the weird aftertaste that I found with the Blueberry.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Blueberry Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 October 24, 2013
    * I only tried the carrot and they were terrible. I wasn't expecting it to taste like a regular high-carb muffin but... I will be trying other flavors to see if they are any different.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 January 11, 2013
    * I hate to write bad reviews, especially for Dixie Diner, whose products I usually enjoy. But these corn muffins were dry (baked at minimum time) and tasteless. I even added some jalapeno cheese to the batter and still they just weren't good. My husband, a certified bread addict on a low-carb diet, forced one down slathered with butter to give it flavor and told me to throw the rest away. I have a couple other flavors to try that I'm hoping are good, but save your money and skip the corn muffins.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Corn
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 November 05, 2009
    * I tried the classic carrot muffin mix and followed the directions. They baked up as described but the muffins have a strange, almost chemical smell. It's like the odor is trying to mimic carrot cake. I will try more of these products as I am so grateful to have options. I wondered if anyone else had this experience?
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 June 06, 2009
    * This didn't taste like carrot at all to me; it tasted like coconut. I still have some of the mix left, so I think I am going to add some grated carrot to make it more carrot-y.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 March 26, 2009
    * Loved the carrot muffin, so I was excited to try lemon creme - well, not so good. Very dry and very little lemon flavor. Also, a lot more carbs, so I'm sticking with the carrot.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Lemon Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 November 28, 2008
    * We did not care for the taste of these. They did not cook well either. Stick to Dixie brownies and biscuits.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 September 08, 2007
    * I hate to be a naysayer here, but I made the carrot muffins and they were inedible. It wasn't the taste--it was nicely spiced. It was the texture. Halfway between rubber and a sponge with flecks of gritty coconut inbetween. Even when I let the batter sit overnight to try to soften the coconut, it was still pretty gritty.

    I've had better low carb muffins--flax muffins, in particular. Even the old Atkins brand were better than these. I really wanted to like these, but with Dixie Diners' club it's pretty much hit or miss.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 August 14, 2007
    * I tried the banana nut muffin - did not like the nuts. They were thin and actually a nuisance to eat. I used to love the banana nut muffins Atkins used to carry. I am going to try the carrot cake muffin next and hopefully will like it.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 February 19, 2007
    * Made exactly to package directions. Got 12 *very* small muffins. Taste was ... okay, not anything better than that. Taste was actually better once they'd cooled, but the "better" made them only okay. First taste when still hot was that they were icky. I won't buy this mix again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Blueberry Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.