Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 1/5 December 11, 2018
    * This stuff is NASTY. When you open the bag it smells quite a lot like a freshly opened beach ball. The color is off too, yellowish. I used it to make marshmallows. While the texture was spot on, the taste, smell, and after taste is horrific! Like some other reviewers, I too get a burning sensation in my throat. It is awful and I would recommend trying a different product. My next "try" will be Pyure.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 18, 2018
    * This is the best sugar substitute I have found so far. It tastes almost just like sugar with no funky after taste.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 15, 2018
    * Swerve is my go to sweetner. As a diabetic, it does not raise my sugar. I have found less is better when baking. In large quantities it has a cooling mouth taste.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 15, 2018
    * Definitely a great sugar substitute when cooking/baking. I've used this when making several low carb items (cheesecake, peanut butter pie, cookies, etc) and this is my go-to sugar substitute. Other recipes call for xylitol or erythritol, but I find this preferable.

    Advice, though. When baking and you're using a good deal of any sugar substitute, know that they all have some level of that "fake sugar" taste. It's just going to happen. I've tried MULTIPLE sugar substitutes and I can detect that aftertaste a mile a way. That means you probably don't want a dessert with a light flavor. Think of rich chocolates or spices, roasted nuts; really go for it with the flavor to keep that artificial flavor at bay. Honestly - peanut butter based desserts work especially well. No one can ever tell (until I tell them) that I made it with Swerve instead of sugar.

    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 06, 2018
    * This is probably the best sugar substitute out there. My only complaint is that it doesn’t come in larger sizes.

    It works well, cup for cup, in baking, which is largely what I use it for.

    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 25, 2018
    * Netrition has excellent customer service. I called and all my questions were answered. The product shipped well and arrived on time.
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 26, 2018
    * What can i say. If you are keto you are probably going to need this. If you buy it on line you will want to buy it at Netrition. It comes very well package, quick and the cheapest price. All that needs to be said.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 January 03, 2018
    * I've tried both the granular and the confectioners, in multiple recipes. It took me a while to realize that the Swerve was causing my throat to burn. I haven't had that experience with other brands of erythritol, and my kids don't seem to get that same reaction. But for me, it makes food inedible. Sad, because it's hard to find a good powdered sugar substitute. I am going to try making my own from xylitol.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 15, 2017
    * Great stuff! I just wish they sold bigger bags of it here on netrition!
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 15, 2017
    * Love it! Just reordered! Can't run out!
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 02, 2017
    * I love this sweetener! I use it in all my baking. I buy the granular Swerve and process in my bullet or in my food processor to make powder (confectioners) sugar. Works great.
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 05, 2017
    * Good product for baking.
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 18, 2017
    * My favorite sugar alternative at an unbeatable price, thank you Netrition!!
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 08, 2017
    * Very nice substitute for high sugar confectioner's sugar!!!
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 04, 2017
    * Although all sweeteners have some aftertaste to me, Swerve tastes the best in my opinion. Especially for baking. I give the Granular 4 stars, but the Confectioners 5 stars. I have found that kind can be substituted in the same measurements as the Granular.
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 April 16, 2017
    * I purchased this after I started to see it in so many online recipes for low carb desserts. I was really excited to get it because of all of the great reviews. This product is awful! I have officially ruined 4 desserts trying to make this product work as advertised. The mouth feel of this product is awful and the aftertaste is disgusting. The cooling effect this has makes it ridiculously hard to bake with and ruins many a good recipe.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 12, 2017
    * I had read reviews from Low Carb bloggers recommending Swerve, and now that I've tried it, I do like the taste. I have it in my morning coffee, along with a drop or two of liquid stevia. I once read from a renowned nutritionist that sweeteners mixed together have a synergistic effect, so I always mix 2-3 sweeteners together and it seems to give me the most natural sugar flavor. I haven't yet made desserts with this, but intend to. From everything I've read, it bakes beautifully.
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 10, 2017
    * I really like using swerve. When I first used swerve I could feel the cooling sensation but not anymore. Just made some Apple Flaxseed Muffins using swerve and it is delicious!
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 10, 2017
    * This stuff is amazing for baking, but not so much for coffee. I also have a small gripe (and it's only me, my wife doesn't mind), there is a "cool mouth" effect on foods that are not hot out of the oven and have cooled down to room temperature. This can be completely eliminated by heating up the foods in the microwave or oven again.

    In coffee, there is good taste; however, you get this sweet taste that doesn't leave the back of your throat for awhile if you use too much (if you like sweet coffee). You can only use a small amount in coffee before you get this back of the throat sweetness.

    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 08, 2017
    * I find that swerve has the best flavor for a sugar substitute. Several others I have tried have had a bitter aftertaste and I do not get that with this product.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 30, 2016
    * I just love swerve! It is the closest thing to real sugar I've found yet. I especially like it when baking because it measures cup for cup the same as white sugar. I made my last cheesecake with swerve and my grandson could not tell the difference from my cheesecakes made with real sugar! This was amazing! This will be a permanent replacement for sugar in my house.
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 14, 2015
    * Hands down there is nothing like swerve. Great to bake with also! I make every kind of dessert with Swerve and there is no aftertaste like stevia.
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 08, 2015
    * This is my favorite low-carb non-glycemic sweetener. It tastes and measures like sugar. It's worth the price when using it as a substitute for table sugar (in coffee/tea, lightly sprinkled over berries, etc) but I find I go through it too quickly for my personal budget if I use it for much baking. For larger scale baking, I use a combo of erythritol and stevia, but if I'm making something to take to a gathering, or serving guests at home, I make sure I use the Swerve. Nothing but the best for family and friends!
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 22, 2015
    * I use Swerve every time I bake a low carb treat..no aftertaste and is just like using sugar. I looked for a long time for a sugar substitute that would taste and feel like real sugar and this is definitely the winner! Only one thing wrong with it, and that is it's a bit pricey, but other than that it's wonderful.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 January 09, 2015
    * I've tried nearly every brand of sweetener out there, including the less natural ones. Now, I use erythritol and stevia almost exclusively after a few years of experimenting. After testing many brands of erythritol, I've come to truly love Swerve. It doesn't affect my blood sugar, it has the best taste and the least cooling effect, it hasn't caused stomach or digestion issues common to sugar alcohols, and it works in just about everything I make. My only issue is the price. Swerve is more of a luxury for me and often, I have to return to other brands of erythritol because they are just more affordable. All in all, it's an excellent, great tasting product and it makes life so much easier for those watching their blood sugar, but I look forward to the day when the price comes down a bit. In the meantime, watch for sales!
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 August 17, 2014
    * Despite the high price, I decided to try Swerve due to the many recommendations by low-carb bakers. It has a bizarre odor and aftertaste, along with a strange powder that gets in the air every time the bag is opened. I much prefer ZSweet, both for the taste and the price.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 May 06, 2014
    * Swerve is good stuff. I started using it about 3 months ago and have been very satisfied - and I've used it in many different types of foods. I especially like it in baked goods since it seems to give a nice brown-ness like I would expect with use of sugar, but obviously without the hit to my blood sugar. The only reason I rate it a 4 rather than a 5 is purely due to cost. Hopefully the price will decrease.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 September 27, 2013
    * I bake a lot and bought this for that purpose. The cooling effect others mentioned was present and far too much of a hurdle for me to get over. Nothing worse than biting into a piping hot brownie and in the middle it tastes...cold. The best way to describe it is to say this sweetener makes your tongue feel like you've been chewing mint. It doesn't go away after a while but remains. For example, I froze some cookies made with this and when I heated them up to eat they were still cool in the middle. I found this intolerable in my baked goods. The product is also very overpriced.

    I gave it 2 stars because there is no bitter or obnoxiously sweet aftertaste like with other sweeteners and if you don't use it to bake perhaps the cooling effect isn't present.

    This review is specific to Swerve, All-Natural Sweetener
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 21, 2013
    * I used this because it was recommended in a recipe for low-carb "Magic Bars", made with almond flour in the base. They were a bit of work but tasted EXCELLENT!
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 14, 2012
    * I definitely think Swerve is one of a kind. I baked sugar cookies with icing and the pros and cons were:

    Pros: First sugar alcohol I have tried with no gassy after effects! What a relief! Not quite as sweet a sugar - great when you want to create less cravings for the sweet stuff over time. The telltale cooling affect on the tongue goes away after baking. (You can taste it in the dough prior and the frosting a bit). No aftertaste! Cons: The confectioner's type is very fine and does create a dust cloud. I used regular sprinkles and sugars to decorate to bring the sweetness up just a touch and for the kids to have fun. So they were almost sugar-free sugar cookies!

    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 17, 2011
    * Wow. This is the best sweetener I've tried in terms of clean taste. It subs one to one with sugar. It doesn't dissolve particularly well in ice-tea--it looks cloudy--but it tastes wonderful. Almost like honey.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 05, 2011
    * I am so happy with this stuff. I am working a very low-carb program right now, in an effort to stabilize my blood sugar, and Swerve is a godsend. I can't stand the other mainstream artificial sweeteners and the ability to sweeten my tea or my yogurt without having to juggle carbs is just wonderful. None of that would matter to me if it didn't taste good, but in fact, it tastes terrific. I am looking forward to cooking with it.
    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 January 28, 2011
    * I've been using this for a week in my coffee & tea. Less sweet than Splenda ( but, what isn't??) , fairly dense, dissolves well, and a very slight "artificial" sweetener aftertaste. Probably won't reorder because of the price-- will stick w/ xylitol or stevia products that Netrition offers.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 19, 2011
    * Love this product. I have used both Swerve Granular and Swerve Confectioner over the Holidays. It made wonderful Lemon and Raspberry bars. And everyone enjoyed them, and did not notice the change in sugar. There were no Stomach or intestinal disturbance for anyone.
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 June 16, 2010
    * I ordered Swerve and SweetPerfection. I thought SP was going to be the all out winner. Boy was I wrong. Swerve is great, no aftertase and passes my coffee and custard test with flying colors. My DH prefers his coffee with Swerve and cream instead of the leading HC flavored creamers. This stuff is amazing. So far, I haven't had any digestive problems, and I am still in ketosis. Way to go!
    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 19, 2010
    * This product is exactly what you would expect for a very low calorie, low/zero glycemic effect sugar substitute.

    You won't be disappointed. I use this in all sorts of goods that I put together from frosting to pancakes. It really makes it easy to stay away from the high calories/glycemic sugars.

    A little pricey but you are worth it........

    Swerve , Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 05, 2010
    * PHENOMENAL!!!

    This product is awesome. Unlike Splenda, and Equal or even WheyLow sugar substitutes, this is very low cal and tastes awesome.

    Problem, right now it is still a little pricey, but with volume sales, maybe we can see the price come down.

    I love this stuff and am ordering another 2 pounds.

    This review is specific to Swerve, Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.